About gallery Catalogue Events Blog Lithographs Art Service Contacts

Henri Matisse

31.12.1869 - 03.11.1954

The most expensive painting by Matisse as of 2014 - "Daffodils and tablecloth in blue and pink colors" was part of the collection of Yves Saint Laurent, and after his death, was sold at Christie's auction for 35.9 million dollars.


About the artist

Henri Matisse

Henri Matisse was born in Le Kato (Picardy). He studied in Paris at the Julian Academy, then at the School of Decorative Arts and the School of Fine Arts.

In 1905-1907 Matisse became the leader of a new artistic direction - Fauvism. However, Fauvism was often accompanied by acute social criticism - so "Blue Nude" of Matisse was burned at the International Exhibition of Contemporary Art in Chicago in 1913.

In the period 1907-1911's friends wizard financed Matisse Academy, where he could train young artists.

In the second half of the 1900s, the artist found his own style - sleek drawing, a contrast combination of a few color zones (panel "Dance" and "Music" for the mansion of Shchukin in Moscow) or drawing, rich in shades of primary colors, translucent and not concealing texture of the canvas ( "Artist's Workshop"). In the works of Matisse of the second half of 10s the impact of Cubism is noticeable ("Music Lesson"), and works of the 20s, on the other hand, are notable for coloristic variety, softness of the letter (Series "Odalisque"). In 30-40-ies the artist combined decorativeness of Fauvism with analytically precise construction of the composition (frieze "Dance" at the Museum of Barnes). In the 40s, the artist often resorted to the technique of applications from colored paper (series "Jazz"). Since the beginning of 1900, and most often in the 20-30-ies Matisse turned to sculpture (relief of "Nude female figure seen from behind," 1930).

The most expensive painting by Matisse as of 2014 - "Daffodils and tablecloth in blue and pink colors" was part of the collection of Yves Saint Laurent, and after his death, was sold at Christie's auction for 35.9 million dollars.

Work
Subscribe to Newsletter
Subscribe
Contact
or

О галерее О Владельцах Каталог События MUST HAVE Подарки Эстампы Контакты

Анри Матисс

31.12.1869 - 03.11.1954

Самая дорогая картина Матисса по состоянию на 2014 год – «Нарциссы и скатерть в синих и розовых тонах» входила в коллекцию Ива Сен-Лорана, а после его смерти была продана на
аукционе Christie’s за 35 900 000 долларов.


О художнике

Анри Матисс

Анри Матисс родился в Ле-Като (Пикардия). Учился в Париже, в академии Жюлиана, затем в Школе декоративных искусств и в Школе изящных искусств.

В 1905–1907 годах Матисс становится лидером нового художественного направления – фовизма. Однако фовизм часто сопровождался острой общественной критикой – так, «Голубая обнаженная» Матисса была сожжена на Международной выставке современного искусства в Чикаго в 1913 году.

В период 1907–1911 годов друзья мастера профинансировали Академию Матисса, в которой тот мог обучать молодых художников.

Во второй половине 1900-х художник находит свой стиль – лаконичный рисунок, контрастное сочетание немногих цветовых зон (панно «Танец» и «Музыка» для особняка С. И. Щукина в Москве) или рисунок, богатый оттенками основного тона, полупрозрачными и не скрывающими фактуру холста («Мастерская художника»). В работах Матисса второй половины 10-х годов заметно воздействие кубизма («Урок музыки»), а произведения 20-х годов, напротив, отличаются колористическим многообразием, мягкостью письма (серия «Одалиски»). В 30–40-х годах художник сочетает декоративность фовизма с аналитически четким построением композиции (фриз «Танец» в Музее Барнеса). В 40-х годах художник часто прибегает к технике аппликаций из цветной бумаги (серия «Джаз»). С начала 1900-х и особенно часто в 20–30-х годах Матисс обращается скульптуре (рельеф «Обнаженная женская фигура со спины», 1930)

Самая дорогая картина Матисса по состоянию на 2014 год – «Нарциссы и скатерть в синих и розовых тонах» входила в коллекцию Ива Сен-Лорана, а после его смерти была продана на аукционе Christie’s за 35 900 000 долларов.

Картины
Подписка на рассылку
Подписаться
Связаться
или