About gallery Catalogue Events Blog Lithographs Art Service Contacts

Marc Chagall

6.07.1887 - 28.03.1985

Chagall was one of the few artists to be awarded during the life of the exhibition of his works in the Louvre.
Prices for his paintings today are estimated in millions of dollars.
So, the picture of Marc Chagall "Les amoureux" («The loving couple») (1928) bought in the artist's gallery in Paris in 1928
and since this moment kept by the famiy of the first owner was purchased by the Russian collector for $28.5 million and broke the previous record set in the mid-90s of $14.9 million.


About the artist

Marc Chagall

Marc Chagall was born in Belarus, in the place Peskovatiki near Vitebsk, he received a traditional religious education at home.

At the end of 1906, Chagall arrived in St. Petersburg, where his mentors become LS Bakst, M. V. Dobuzhinsky, N.K. Roerich. In 1910-1914 he lived in Paris. In the colony of artists "Beehive" he moved closer to the avant-garde lovers, in particular, to the poet Apollinaire and artist Delaunay. Early Chagall paintings, such as "Saturday", are dominated by the theme of childhood, family, death - deeply personal and at the same time timeless motifs.

Over time, the theme of passion takes the central role in his creations - painting "Above the City" and "Gates of the Jewish cemetery."

Abrupt deformation and surreal, fabulous color contrasts of the paintings created by Chagall had a great influence on the development of surrealism. Notable examples of such works - "I and the Village", "Self-Portrait with Seven Fingers".

In 1920-1922 in Moscow the artist performs a number of large wall panels for the Jewish Chamber Theater.

Since 1923 Marc Chagall settled in Paris, in the same year in Berlin there was published a book of his memoirs, "My Life." In 1933 the Nazis, who came to power in Germany publicly burned paintings of the artist. In 1935, Chagall visited Warsaw and Vilna (now Vilnius). The result of the trip was a cycle "Crucifixion" - as response to the fascist terror.

Since 1955, work began on the "Bible of Chagall." In line with this cycle the master created a big number of monumental sketches, composition of which decorated later different religious buildings. These works, together with secular decorative compositions, such as painting the ceiling of the Paris Opera and the Metropolitan Opera in New York, updated language of monumental art.

Chagall was one of the few artists to be awarded during the life of the exhibition of his works in the Louvre. Prices for his paintings today are estimated in millions of dollars.

So, the picture of Marc Chagall "Jubilee" was sold in the mid-90s at Sotheby's for 16.3 million dollars.


Work
Subscribe to Newsletter
Subscribe
Contact
or

О галерее О Владельцах Каталог События MUST HAVE Подарки Эстампы Контакты

Марк Шагал

6.07.1887 - 28.03.1985

Шагал был одним из немногих художников, удостоившихся при жизни выставки своих работ в Лувре. Цены на его картины
сегодня исчисляются миллионами долларов. Так, картина Марка Шагала «Юбилей» была продана в середине 90-х годов на
аукционе Sotheby's за 16 300 000 долларов.


О художнике

Марк Шагал

Марк Шагал родился в Белоруссии, в местечке Песковатики близ Витебска, получил традиционное религиозное домашнее образование.

В конце 1906 года Шагал приезжает в Петербург, где его наставниками становятся Л. С. Бакст, М. В. Добужинский, Н. К. Рерих. В 1910–1914 годах живет в Париже. В колонии художников «Улей» сближается с авангардистами, в частности, с поэтом Аполлинером и художником Делоне. В ранних картинах Шагала, таких как «Суббота», доминируют темы детства, семьи, смерти – глубоко личностные и в то же время вечные мотивы.

Со временем на первый план выходит тема страстной любви – картины «Над городом» и «Ворота еврейского кладбища».

Резкие деформации и ирреально-сказочные цветовые контрасты полотен, созданных Шагалом, оказали большое влияние на развитие сюрреализма. Яркие примеры таких работ – «Я и деревня», «Автопортрет с семью пальцами».

В 1920–1922 годах в Москве художник выполняет ряд больших настенных панно для Еврейского камерного театра.

С 1923 года Марк Шагал обосновался в Париже, в том же году в Берлине вышла книга его мемуаров «Моя жизнь». В 1933 году пришедшие в Германии к власти нацисты публично сжигали картины художника. В 1935 году Шагал посетил Варшаву и Вильно (ныне Вильнюс). Результатом поездки стал цикл «Распятие» – как отклик на фашистский террор.

С 1955 года началась работа над «Библией Шагала». В русле этого цикла мастер создал большое число монументальных эскизов, композиции по которым украсили здания разных религиозных конфессий. Эти произведения вместе со светскими декоративными композициями, такими как росписи плафона Парижской оперы и Метрополитен-опера в Нью-Йорке, обновили язык монументального искусства.

Шагал был одним из немногих художников, удостоившихся при жизни выставки своих работ в Лувре. Цены на его картины сегодня исчисляются миллионами долларов. Так, картина Марка Шагала «Юбилей» была продана в середине 90-х годов на аукционе Sotheby's за 16 300 000 долларов.

Картины
События
Подписка на рассылку
Подписаться
Связаться
или