About gallery Catalogue Events Blog Lithographs Art Service Contacts

Jeff Koons

21/01/1955

Commercial success came to Koons in 2007 when his giant metal installation "Hanging Heart" was sold at Sotheby's for $ 23.6 million.
The following year, a huge purple "Balloon Flower" went to Christie's for $ 25.8 million.
In 2013, "Balloon Dog (Orange )", sold at auction Christie's for $ 54.8 million, allowed him to become the most expensive living artist.


About the artist

Jeff Koons

Jeff Koons was born in York, Pennsylvania. As a teenager, he worshipped Salvador Dali. Jeff Koons attended school at the Art Institute of Chicago and the Maryland College of Art.

After college, Koons worked as a broker on Wall Street. He got recognition in the 1980s. Later, he created a studio-Factory in New York's SoHo. He headed a staff of more than 30 employees, each of whom was responsible for certain aspects of his work, the same way as legendary Andy Warhol`s Factory.

Koons` art is classified as neo-pop art or post-pop art with elements of kitsch, art directions that emerged in the 1980s as a reaction to conceptualism and minimalism.

In the 1990s, Jeff Koons created a series of huge sculptures made of steel, imitating the elongated latex balloon toys. According to Koons, playing such balloons in his childhood made a huge impression on him, preserved to this day. In 1988, Koons created a gold-plated sculpture of Michael Jackson ("Michael Jackson and Bubbles") in full size which became a culmination of a series of sculptures "Banality". Three years later, it was sold at Sotheby's auction in New York for more than five million dollars.

Today Jeff Koons is the President of the Corporation Jeff Koons LLC with 135 employees, headquartered in New York City. In fact, it is a factory for the production of contemporary art, where Koons creates images and models on the computer, and the team implements them in the material.

Subscribe to Newsletter
Subscribe
Contact
or

О галерее Каталог Афиша События Эстампы Арт сервисы Контакты

Джефф Кунс

21.01.1955

Коммерческий успех пришел к Кунсу в 2007 году.
Тогда его гигантская металлическая инсталляция «Подвесное сердечко» была продана на Sotheby’s за $23,6 млн.
В следующем году огромный пурпурный «Цветок из воздушного шарика» ушел на Christie’s за $25,8 млн.
В 2013 г. «Собака из воздушных шаров (Оранжевая)», проданная на торгах Christie’s за $54,8 млн., позволила ему стать самым дорогим художником из ныне живущих.


О художнике

Джефф Кунс

Джефф Кунс родился в Йорке, Пенсильвания. Будучи подростком, почитал Сальвадора Дали. Джефф Кунс посещал школу при Художественном институте Чикаго и Мэрилендский художественный колледж.

После колледжа Кунс работал брокером на Уолл-Стрит. Он получил признание в 1980-х годах, после чего создал студию-завод в нью-йоркском Сохо. Он возглавил штат из более чем 30 сотрудников, каждый из которых отвечал за отдельные аспекты его работы наподобие Фабрики Энди Уорхола.

Творчество Кунса классифицируют как нео-поп или пост-поп с элементами китча, направления, возникшие в 80-е годы как реакция на концептуализм и минимализм.

В 1990 гг. Джефф Кунс создал серию огромных скульптур из стали, имитировавших игрушки из продолговатых воздушных шариков. Игра в такие шарики, как говорил Кунс, в детские годы произвела на него впечатление, сохранившееся по сей день. Серия «Банальность», кульминацией которой стало создание в 1988 году позолоченной скульптуры Майкла Джексона («Michael Jackson and Bubbles») в натуральную величину. Три года спустя она была продана на аукционе Sotheby’s в Нью-Йорке за более чем пять миллионов долларов.

Сейчас художник является президентом корпорации Jeff Koons LLC со штаб-квартирой в Нью-Йорке и 135 сотрудниками. Фактически это фабрика по производству предметов современного искусства — Кунс создает образы и модели на компьютере, а коллектив работает над их воплощением в материале.

Подписка на рассылку
Подписаться
Связаться
или