About gallery Catalogue Events Blog Lithographs Art Service Contacts

Andy Warhol

06.07.1928 - 22.02.1987

The artwork of the master " Silver Car Crash " (1963 ) was sold for 105.4 million dollars.


About the artist

Andy Warhol

Andy Warhol (born Andrew Warhola ) -an artist and a filmmaker, an iconic person in the history of pop art movement and contemporary art in general.

Warhol was born in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, in the family of Rysin immigrants from the country Mikova. He studied commercial art at Carnegie Mellon University. In 1949 he moved to New York and began a successful career in advertising and magazine illustrations. The success was brought him by advertising graphics, drawings of shoes for the I. Miller company.

In 1962, Warhol created a sensational series of canvases in screaming colors with images of cans of Coca-Cola and canned food, including the famous tomato soup "Campbell", which became the hallmark of the artist. Radical art critics immediately drew attention to them, saying that these works reveal the banality, emptiness and impersonality of Western culture of mass consumption. Subsequently, Warhol began to generate carried out in the same "acid" style images of the idols of modern society: Marilyn Monroe, Mick Jagger, Mao Zedong.

In 1963, Warhol opened a studio "Fabric" in downtown Manhattan. The studio produced up to 80 silkscreens per day and about a thousand per year. There the work on mass production of portraits of celebrities was adjusted. Scandalous reputation of Warhol contributed to higher prices for works from this series, which have become a real symbol of commercial pop art and American art culture of the XX century.

In the second half of the 1960s, Warhol began to show interest in the film industry, produced the rock band The Velvet Underground, was a conceptual designer of covers of music albums, for example, Sticky Fingers by The Rolling Stones.

A youth subculture of students and followers developed around Warhol, that often generated extremes of both - creativity and emotions. So, in 1968, the feminist Valerie Solanas shot at his teacher, wounding him hard.

Warhol was saved , but for a long time he remained an invalid, and in 1987 died from the effects of the injury. Today, the market value of Warhol paintings is often measured in tens of millions of dollars. His artwork " Silver Car Crash " (1963 ) was sold for 105.4 million dollars.

Subscribe to Newsletter
Subscribe
Contact
or

О галерее О Владельцах Каталог События MUST HAVE Подарки Эстампы Контакты

Энди Уорхол

06.07.1928 - 22.02.1987

Работа мастера «Серебристая автокатастрофа» (1963) была продана за 105 400 000 долларов.


О художнике

Энди Уорхол

Энди Уорхол (настоящее имя Андрей Вархола) – художник и кинорежиссер, культовая персона в истории поп-арт-движения и современного искусства в целом.

Уорхол родился в Питтсбурге, штат Пенсильвания, в семье эмигрантов-русинов из деревни Микова. Изучал коммерческое искусство в Carnegie Mellon University. В 1949 году переехал в Нью-Йорк и начал успешную карьеру в рекламе и журнальной иллюстрации. Успех ему принесла рекламная графика, особенно рисунки обуви для компании «И. Миллер».

В 1962 году Уорхол создал сенсационную серию полотен в кричащих цветах с изображениями банок кока-колы и консервов, в том числе знаменитого томатного супа «Кэмпбелл», ставшие визитной карточкой художника. Радикальные арт-критики сразу обратили на них внимание, заявив, что эти произведения вскрывают пошлость, пустоту и безликость западной культуры массового потребления. Впоследствии Уорхол стал создавать выполненные в той же «кислотной» манере образы кумиров современного общества: Мэрилин Монро, Мика Джаггера, Мао Цзэдуна.

В 1963 году Уорхол открыл в центре Манхэттена студию «Фабрика». Студия производила до 80 шелкографий в день, а в год выпускала около тысячи работ. Здесь была налажена работа по массовому производству портретов знаменитостей. Скандальная репутация Уорхола способствовала росту цен на работы из этой серии, которые стали настоящим символом коммерческого поп-арта и американской художественной культуры XX столетия.

Во второй половине 1960-х Уорхол стал проявлять интерес к кино, продюсировал рок-группу The Velvet Underground, был дизайнером обложек концептуальных музыкальных альбомов, например, Sticky Fingers группы The Rolling Stones.

Вокруг Уорхола сложилась молодежная субкультура учеников и последователей, нередко порождающая крайние проявления как в творчестве, так и в эмоциях. Так, в 1968 году феминистка Валери Соланас выстрелила в своего учителя, тяжело ранив его.

Уорхола удалось спасти, но долгое время он оставался инвалидом, а в 1987 году умер от последствий этого ранения. Сегодня рыночная стоимость картин Уорхола нередко измеряется десятками миллионов долларов. Работа мастера «Серебристая автокатастрофа» (1963) была продана за 105 400 000 долларов.

Картины
Подписка на рассылку
Подписаться
Связаться
или