About gallery Catalogue Events Blog Lithographs Art Service Contacts

Andre Masson

04.01.1896 – 28.10.1987

Masson deeply affected abstract expressionism in the US, where he moved in 1940. 
After returning to France, he worked in theater, book illustrations, he painted the ceiling of the Paris Odeon theatre in 1964. 
Sold for $ 1,348,000 at Christie's auction in February 2006, 
his work "Emblematic view of Toledo" ("Vue emblématique de Tolède") was a record for the works by A. Masson.


About the artist

Andre Masson
He was born in Belgium. In 1908, he graduated from the painting courses at the Brussels embroidery school and entered the local Academy of arts. In 1912, he continued his studies at the Paris School of fine arts. At the beginning of WWI, he volunteered for the front and was seriously wounded. He lived mainly in Paris, initially earning as a ceramist and newspaper proofreader. Having signed a contract with the famous art dealer D.-H. Kahnweiler, he managed to devote himself entirely to art from mid-1920s.

He had a strong color-symbolist manner in his early works,. However, his works went through a period of cubism later. In 1924, he found himself in the mainstream of surrealism, having met A.Breton after Masson's first personal exhibition. He developed cubist forms in a surreal manner, then, in 1926, he worked in the technique of "automatic painting", creating pictorial and graphic compositions (graphics always played a full-fledged parallel role in his works), where individual figures and symbols are increasingly were subjected to the spontaneous play of rhythms, colors and strokes.

In 1940, he moved to the United States, where his art directly boosted the formation of abstract expressionism, Masson himself was deeply impressed by the works of classical Chinese painting in the American collections. Returning to France (1945), he created impressionistic local landscapes.

His work of 1953-1959 attributed to the" Asian period " by their dominant echoes with the far Eastern ink painting.
Subscribe to Newsletter
Subscribe
Contact
or

О галерее Каталог Афиша События Эстампы Арт сервисы Контакты

Андре Массон

04.01.1896 – 28.10.1987

Массон глубоко повлиял на становление абстрактного экспрессионизма в Америке, куда переехал в 1940 г.
После возвращения во Францию работал в театре, в книжной иллюстрации, в 1964 г. расписал плафон парижского театра Одеон.
Проданная в феврале 2006 г. работа «Символический вид Толедо» («Vue emblématique de Tolède»)
на аукционе Christie’s за $ 1,348,000 стала рекордной по стоимости работ А.Массона.


О художнике

Андре Массон
Родился в Бельгии. В 1908 г. окончил курсы рисования при Брюссельской школе художественной вышивки и поступил в местную Академию художеств. В 1912 продолжил учебу в парижской Школе изящных искусств. В начале Первой мировой войны пошел на фронт добровольцем и был тяжело ранен. Жил преимущественно в Париже, первоначально зарабатывая на жизнь в качестве керамиста и газетного корректора. Заключив контракт с известным галеристом Д.-А.Канвейлером, смог с середины 1920-х годов целиком посвятить себя искусству.

В его ранних работах проявляется сильная красочно-символистская манера. Однако в последствии его творчество прошло через период кубизма. В 1924 г. нашел себя в русле сюрреализма, познакомившись после первой своей персональной выставки с А.Бретоном. Сюрреалистически развивал кубистские формы, затем с 1926 работал в технике «автоматической живописи», создавая живописные и графические композиции (графика всегда играла в его творчестве полноправно-параллельную роль), где отдельные фигуры и символы во все большей степени подчинялись спонтанной игре ритмов, красок и штрихов.

В 1940 г. переехал в США, где его творчество послужило непосредственным импульсом к формированию абстрактного экспрессионизма, сам же Массон испытал глубокое впечатление от произведений классической китайской живописи в американских коллекциях. Вернувшись во Францию (1945), писал импрессионистические местные пейзажи.

Его работы 1953–1959 относят к «азиатскому периоду» в силу доминирующих в них перекличек с дальневосточной живописью тушью.
Подписка на рассылку
Подписаться
Связаться
или